Latest News

La Jollan wins top prize in Theoretical Chemistry


Prof. J. Andrew McCammon

Reprint of article originally published September 7, 2016 in La Jolla Light

J. Andrew McCammon, a distinguished professor of chemistry, biochemistry and pharmacology at UC San Diego, has won the 2016-17 Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry, awarded by the Theoretical Chemistry Institute at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. A physical chemist who is also a fellow of the San Diego Supercomputer Center and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, McCammon is the second UCSD chemistry professor to receive the prestigious prize, following Peter Wolynes in 2009.

“Andy is one of the pioneers of biosimulation, and he has worked extensively in this area since the late 1970s,” said James Skinner, director of the Theoretical Chemistry Institute at UW-Madison. “His work has been cited over 43,000 times — clearly his work has had an enormous impact.”

McCammon will visit the UW-Madison Department of Chemistry Sept. 26-28 to deliver three public lectures as part of the award.

Link to the full article from the La Jolla Light 

"La Jollan Wins Top Prize in Theoretical Chemistry." La Jolla Light. La Jolla Light, 08 Sept. 2016. Web. 01 Feb. 2017.