2010 Summer Institute Program


NBCR Summer Institute 2010 Program for
Training Sessions and Computational Seminar Series


Aug 2, 2010, Monday
07:30 - 12:00 Registration    Fung Auditorium, PFBH, UCSD   Contact: Peggy Wagner
Aug 2, 2010, Monday - Aug 6, 2010, Friday
Location 1
PFBH, room 161, Building 601
Location 2
Atkinson Hall, room 3004, Building 603
Location 3
TSRI, room 315, Building 3377
08:30 - 12:00
T1 Computational Cardiac Electrophysiology and Mechanics
Chair: Prof. Andrew McCulloch
Instructors: Dr. Andrew McCulloch, Fred Lionetti, Dr. Jasmin Aguado-Sierra, Jeff Van Dorn, Matthew Gonzales
T2 Molecular Electrostatics and Diffusion
Chair: Prof. J. Andrew McCammon
Instructors: Drs. Robert Konecny, Gary Huber, Yuhui Cheng
T3 Programming Scalable Scientific Workflows
Chair: Prof. Michel Sanner
Instructors: Professor Michel Sanner, Drs. Wilfred Li, Ruth Huey; Jane Ren

13:00 - 14:00Poster Session Posters stay up all week. Best Poster judging occurs on Tuesday from 1 to 2 pm Contact: Wilfred Li, Ph.D. Room: Fung Auditorium, PFBH, UCSD

12:15 - 13:00
Lunch. Room: Fung Auditorium, PFBH, UCSD

12:30 - 13:30Plenary Session Challenges in Multiscale Computational Modeling Room: Fung Auditorium, PFBH, UCSD Aug 2, 2010, Monday - Aug 5, 2010, Thursday

14:00 - 17:30
T6 Special Topics on Emerging Technologies in Multiscale Modeling
Chair: Prof. Michael Holst
Instructors: Profs. Rommie Amaro, Zeyun Yu; Drs. Anushka Michailova, Johan Hake, Cesar de Oliveira, Barry Grant, Dr. Robert V. Swift, Yi Wang, Ph.D., Riccardo Baron, Ph.D.
T5 From Cluster to Cloud Computing
Chair: Dr. Peter Arzberger
Instructors: Drs. Philip Papadopoulos, Sriram Krishnan, and Nadya Williams.
T4 Virtual Screening and Computer Aided Drug Discovery (CADD)
Chair: Prof. Art Olson
Instructors: Drs. Ruth Huey, Oleg Trott, Rodney Harris, Stefano Forli, Sargis Dallakyan, Wilfred Li. Jane Ren

Aug 5, 2010, Thursday 18:00 - 21:00
Summer Institute Dinner    Rock Bottom Brewery, 8980 Villa La Jolla Dr, La Jolla, CA 92037   Contact: Teri Simas